
Veterian vs IDEXX Neo
IDEXX Neo and Veterian are the same shape of product: cloud software for general practice, sold on being quick to learn. The differences are what each publishes and what comes included.
Join clinics making the switch
More than 400 veterinarians choose Veterian. We'd love to see you among them.
















Veterian and IDEXX Neo side by side
Every IDEXX Neo entry below is taken from IDEXX Neo’s own published pages and linked underneath, with the date we read it. Where a capability is not documented publicly, the table says so rather than assuming it is missing. A cross in the IDEXX Neo column appears only where IDEXX Neo states the answer on the page the footnote links to. Our own marks are evidenced the same way: each one links to the page on this site that documents the capability.
| Capability | Veterian | IDEXX NeoAn IDEXX product[3]as published 10 September 2026 |
|---|---|---|
| Platform and access | ||
| Cloud-based, nothing to install or maintain | Included — see the page documenting this | Included[1] |
| No limit on clients, patients or records | Included — see the page documenting this | Not published |
| Role-based permissions | Included — see the page documenting this | Not published |
| Multi-location and multi-branch management | Partly included — see the page documenting thisEnterprise plan, custom pricing | Not published |
| Clinical workflow | ||
| Medical records in SOAP format | Included — see the page documenting this | Included[2] |
| Treatment plans and prescriptions | Included — see the page documenting this | Partly includedProcedure templates and estimates[2] |
| Vaccination calendar with automatic reminders | Included — see the page documenting this | Not published |
| Inpatient and boarding tracking | Included — see the page documenting this | Included[2] |
| Real-time patient flowboard | Included — see the page documenting this | Not published |
| Client and patient history in one profile | Included — see the page documenting this | Included[2] |
| AI-assisted dictation and SOAP notes | Included — see the page documenting this | Not published |
| Lab results and imaging held in the patient file | Included — see the page documenting this | Included[2] |
| Consent forms with electronic signature | Partly included — see the page documenting thisConsent forms; no e-signature | Included[2] |
| Scheduling | ||
| Appointment management | Included — see the page documenting this | Included[2] |
| Per-vet and per-staff calendar | Included — see the page documenting this | Not published |
| Online appointment booking | Included — see the page documenting this | Included[2] |
| Shift and leave management | Included — see the page documenting this | Not published |
| Client communication | ||
| SMS, email and mobile notifications | Included — see the page documenting this | Included[2] |
| WhatsApp integration | Included — see the page documenting thisClinic plan | Not published |
| Bulk notifications and announcements | Included — see the page documenting this | Not published |
| Pet owner mobile app | Included — see the page documenting thisFree for pet owners | Not published |
| Finance and stock | ||
| Invoice, payment and balance tracking | Included — see the page documenting this | Included[2] |
| Product and stock tracking | Included — see the page documenting this | Included[2] |
| E-invoice and e-archive integration | Included — see the page documenting this | Not published |
| POS integration | Included — see the page documenting this | Included[2] |
| Pricing and trial | ||
| Prices published on the vendor's own website | Included — see the page documenting thisFrom €29/month | Not published |
| Free trial | Included — see the page documenting this14 days | Not published |
| Reporting, migration and support | ||
| Reporting and analytics | Included — see the page documenting this | Included[2] |
| Data migration from your current software | Included — see the page documenting thisFree on every plan | IncludedData conversion at setup; cost not stated[1] |
| Live chat support | Included — see the page documenting this | Not published |
Cloud-based, nothing to install or maintain
- IDEXX Neo
- Included[1]
No limit on clients, patients or records
- IDEXX Neo
- Not published
Role-based permissions
- IDEXX Neo
- Not published
Multi-location and multi-branch management
- Veterian
- Partly included — see the page documenting thisEnterprise plan, custom pricing
- IDEXX Neo
- Not published
Medical records in SOAP format
- IDEXX Neo
- Included[2]
Treatment plans and prescriptions
- IDEXX Neo
- Partly includedProcedure templates and estimates[2]
Vaccination calendar with automatic reminders
- IDEXX Neo
- Not published
Inpatient and boarding tracking
- IDEXX Neo
- Included[2]
Real-time patient flowboard
- IDEXX Neo
- Not published
Client and patient history in one profile
- IDEXX Neo
- Included[2]
AI-assisted dictation and SOAP notes
- IDEXX Neo
- Not published
Lab results and imaging held in the patient file
- IDEXX Neo
- Included[2]
Consent forms with electronic signature
- Veterian
- Partly included — see the page documenting thisConsent forms; no e-signature
- IDEXX Neo
- Included[2]
Appointment management
- IDEXX Neo
- Included[2]
Per-vet and per-staff calendar
- IDEXX Neo
- Not published
Online appointment booking
- IDEXX Neo
- Included[2]
Shift and leave management
- IDEXX Neo
- Not published
SMS, email and mobile notifications
- IDEXX Neo
- Included[2]
WhatsApp integration
- Veterian
- Included — see the page documenting thisClinic plan
- IDEXX Neo
- Not published
Bulk notifications and announcements
- IDEXX Neo
- Not published
Pet owner mobile app
- Veterian
- Included — see the page documenting thisFree for pet owners
- IDEXX Neo
- Not published
Invoice, payment and balance tracking
- IDEXX Neo
- Included[2]
Product and stock tracking
- IDEXX Neo
- Included[2]
E-invoice and e-archive integration
- IDEXX Neo
- Not published
POS integration
- IDEXX Neo
- Included[2]
Prices published on the vendor's own website
- Veterian
- Included — see the page documenting thisFrom €29/month
- IDEXX Neo
- Not published
Free trial
- Veterian
- Included — see the page documenting this14 days
- IDEXX Neo
- Not published
Reporting and analytics
- IDEXX Neo
- Included[2]
Data migration from your current software
- Veterian
- Included — see the page documenting thisFree on every plan
- IDEXX Neo
- IncludedData conversion at setup; cost not stated[1]
Live chat support
- IDEXX Neo
- Not published
Sources
- [1] https://software.idexx.com/products/neo — as published on 10 September 2026.
- [2] https://software.idexx.com/products/neo/features — as published on 10 September 2026.
- [3] https://software.idexx.com/products — as published on 10 September 2026.
15 of 30 rows have a published IDEXX Neo source.
Why practices choose Veterian over IDEXX Neo
Two products aiming at the same thing
Neo's pages describe "brilliantly simple" cloud software that is easy to set up, learn and use, and claim common tasks completed up to five times faster. Veterian is built on the same premise: a general practice does not have an IT department, and software that needs a week of training is software that never gets used properly.
That makes this the least abstract comparison in the set. Both run in a browser, both cover the day a clinic actually has, and the table above is a fair like-for-like read rather than a contest between products bought by different rooms. Where Neo documents something we do not, the table says so.
What IDEXX publishes about Neo, and what it does not
IDEXX documents Neo's features in detail — the dashboard, patient workflow, scheduling, payments, communications and reporting each have their own section. What the pages do not carry is a price, trial terms or migration terms, so those rows read "Not published" above. One detail worth knowing before you click it: the "Get started for free" button leads to a demo request rather than to a trial.
Veterian publishes all three: €29, €59 and €89 a month with two months free on annual billing, a 14-day trial that asks for no payment details, and migration included on every plan. That is the difference we would point at, and it is checkable in one click rather than something you have to take our word for.
Add-ons, and what the plan price covers
Neo's page describes optional add-on subscriptions for integrated payments and for Vello client engagement, managed and recorded within Neo. Buying capability in pieces suits some practices — you pay for the parts you use, and the parts you do not are somebody else's problem.
Veterian works the other way. Client communication, the pet owner app, online booking, invoicing, stock and reporting are in the plans rather than beside them, and the plan price is what the practice pays. Neither model is right in the abstract; the question is whether the shortlist price you are comparing is the price you will end up on.
Where Neo is ahead, and we would rather say it here
Neo documents electronic signature capture for client procedure approval. Veterian has consent forms but not signature capture, so that row goes to them, and it is in the table above rather than quietly left out.
A comparison in which the advertiser wins every line is not a comparison. If something your clinic depends on is in Neo's column and not in ours, ask us before you plan a move — it is a better use of ten minutes than finding out afterwards.
Frequently asked questions
Mostly commercially. Both are cloud platforms for general practice with a similar feature footprint, so the table above is close in a way most of this cluster is not. Veterian publishes its plan prices, a free trial and free migration; IDEXX's Neo pages state none of the three.
The other difference is what the plan covers. Neo describes payments and client engagement as add-on subscriptions; in Veterian those are in the plan. Every Neo entry above links to the IDEXX page it was read on, so you can check each line yourself.
Try Free for 14 Days
Try it free for 14 days without paying anything.
Trademarks and methodology
IDEXX Neo and all associated names, marks and logos are the property of their respective owners. Veterian is not affiliated with, authorised by, sponsored by or endorsed by them, and their marks are used here only to identify the products being compared.
These pages are published for veterinary practices in English-speaking markets.
This comparison reflects information published by each vendor on its own website, read on the dates given beside each source and reviewed on 10 September 2026. Vendors change their products and their documentation without notice, so entries may be out of date. Where a vendor does not publish information about a capability we record it as “Not published”; we do not treat silence as evidence that a capability is absent.
If you believe an entry misrepresents your product, write to support@veterian.com and we will correct it.